Yes, it’s been forever. Because I’ve been building, that’s why!

Hey, tiny house fans!

Ok. So, last semester didn’t leave me much time to make significant progress on my wonderful tiny dwelling. However, I made it through, and I’ve been very, very busy! The metal roofing is going on, the front pitch is finished (it was torture. please see previous posts for my thoughts on this particular design) and the windows are going in! The rain slowed me today, so I decided to take this opportunity to let you know what’s been going on 😀 First, here’s a picture:

tinyhousejan1<– A view from the back. Trim work has begun, and 3 of the windows are in!

Ok. So, I won’t go into detail on the process behind all I’ve done. But the metal roofing has started going up – I went with Union Corrugating’s master rib roofing, as it seems to be the tiny house builder’s tried and proven material. Also, it is VERY affordable. My entire roof, along with edging, sealing strips, and specialized screws was about 500$. Not too shabby! On that note…words of advice: WEAR GLOVES. The edges of this stuff are razor sharp. They don’t seem it, but trust that they can rip through pants with no effort. Yes. I ripped my pants. And my hand. But I’m ok.

tinyhousejan6<– Dormer roofing, sans ridge cap.

So, there are some specific steps to follow in closing in the shell of a tiny house. 1) trim, 2) metal roofing, 3) windows (this could happen earlier, but I didn’t want to drop things and break any of those windows. They weren’t cheap! 4) window/edge trim, 5) furring strips (air gap for siding), and 6) siding. Right now I’m doing as much as I can to get as many of these steps finished as soon as possible. I’m aiming to put the siding up 2 weeks from now, at which point I will happily rid myself of the horrible tarp.

I went with cedar for both the trim and the siding. Yes, cedar is a bit more expensive than buying regular wood and sealing it. However, check out the sealant prices, and colors. It’s expensive, messy, and rarely gives you a color that looks anything like what you’d want on the outside of a beautiful little structure you’ve been working your butt off to complete. A few words on cedar: you don’t have to seal it. You actually SHOULDN’T seal it, as that ruins the properties that make it the best choice. It is a natural bug and mold repellant, it looks beautiful, it is insanely light & easy to work with, and…well, it smells pretty nice, even though any trim you get will not likely be the “aromatic” type. Well worth the extra $ to forgo chemical sealants/weird colors/extra weight. Cedar does give you the nastiest splinters of all woods, though…so, as with the metal, wear gloves or prepare to do a lot of home surgery on tiny little splinters.

The windows weren’t as horrible as I thought they’d be. Just be sure to put the flashing on from the bottom up to prevent any leakage, and double check that the sills are level and square. Then put a few shims on the bottom sill, run a bead of silicone around the outside of the flashing (leaving two 2 inch gaps on either side of the bottom for moisture release), pop that window in, and screw it in place. The window manufacturer recommended nailing it in, but no. I don’t trust myself with a hammer that close to a window.

This, my friends, is my lovely loft with all of the windows in:

tinyhousejan5 GLORRRRIOUUUUUSSS!

Tomorrow I will be putting in more work on the roof/trim in preparation for the final steps (window/edge trim, furring strips, siding). I am also doing my best to try to figure out how to get R max rigid insulation shipped to me, as they don’t carry it here in warmer climates. But c’mon. I have a house on wheels! I need to insulate for all seasons! So, cross your fingers for me, and I’ll be back soon with more pictures and advice. If you have questions, feel free to ask!

tinyhousejan3 <–I’ll leave you with this picture of a functioning window and the beauty of the eaves trim – cedar looks even better with that silver drip edge, huh? 😀

Back soon! Tiny house on!

Julie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wanderingartemis

Full time indecisive grad student, new owner of tiny house trailer, awkward conversationalist, vagabond wannabe, sort-of anarchist, seeker of eternal adventure

Leave a Reply

